whole30, round two

Yes, I am here again proclaiming my intentions to complete a Whole30. You may remember how I stopped mid-way through the challenge this past January, learned a lot, and continued to implement paleo/primal details into my diet and lifestyle. Welp, I’m at it again. I’m declaring this to you, anonymous internet, for a little bit of accountability and for record-keeping benefits.

One of my goals for this month was to complete a Whole30, modified to match my schedule for the month. Instead of starting on August 1, I started on Monday and will go through the end of the month into September. What is the Whole30, you may ask? This is a great resource, but you can also do a quick web search and come up with a ton of results based on individuals’ experiences.

Over the weekend I prepped some meals to make weeknight cooking a little easier — I hardboiled half a dozen eggs, roasted up a couple of sweet potatoes, washed and chopped raw veggies, set some chicken thighs in a brine and some beef in to marinate. I made a big batch of Mel’s yummy Silky Gingered Zucchini Soup, and I put on a pot of bone broth to simmer overnight. Plus, I’ve got activated almonds, plenty of farmers market melon and a jar full of EPIC bars. I think I’m going to be fine.

Here’s my progress so far:

BREAKFAST  1/30: egg and veggie scramble with cilantro pistou. Coffee.

SONY DSC

LUNCH 1/30: salad with veggies and leftover beef kabobs, zucchini soup.

SONY DSC

SNACK 1/30: Israeli melon from our farmers market.

SONY DSC

DINNER 1/30: coriander chicken thigh, garlic roasted cauliflower, side salad.

BREAKFAST 2/30: kale and roasted sweet potato with two fried eggs, PG Tips tea.

SONY DSC

LUNCH 2/30: leftover coriander chicken thigh, salad with 1/4 avocado, zucchini soup.

SONY DSC

SNACK 2/30: “apple pie a la mode” pudding.

SONY DSC

DINNER 2/30: beef liver fajita salad with bell peppers and onions, avocado and cilantro pistou.

DESSERT/SNACK 2/30: blended frozen banana with coconut milk and cacao.

SONY DSCBREAKFAST 3/30: cashew cookie Lara bar, leftover broccoli sauteed in ghee, deli turkey. Coffee with coconut milk and grass-fed gelatin.

SONY DSCLUNCH 3/30: zucchini soup, deli turkey, sliced radishes and cucumbers.

SONY DSCDINNER 3/30: shiitake shrimp stir fry with baby bok choy.

DESSERT/SNACK 3/30: “apple pie a la mode” pudding with ground flax.

BREAKFAST 4/30: kale and sweet potato hash with two fried eggs. Coffee.

SONY DSC

LUNCH 4/30: remaining zucchini soup, salad with smoked mackerel and fresh dill.

SONY DSC

SNACK 4/30: CocomoJoe “baby bar” and remaining Israeli melon.

DINNER 4/30: coriander chicken thigh with peach-cherry tomato salsa, kale salad with avocado dressing, smoky spiced sweet potato fries.SONY DSCI’ll be keeping track of my progress throughout the month and will report back regularly on how I’m feeling and what I’m eating. This time around I have a better mindset, and have approached the guidelines with less of a sense of duty and perfection and as more of an investment in my health. Plus I’ve been really busy lately with new projects and moving preparations, and eating this way dramatically simplifies my day-to-day. I’m feeling light, energetic, positive and nourished — not deprived.

Across the weekend I’ll be working on incorporating more fermented foods, homemade bone broth, seaweed and fresh vegetables into my meals. My snacks have been a little heavy on the fruit, and as I’m trying to curb sugar cravings I’m going to pay more attention to how I snack from now on.

Meanwhile, I’m going to continue to pretend that red wine and gin and tonics do not exist. It’s just a little bit easier that way.

4 thoughts on “whole30, round two

  1. around here –

  2. a cheater’s tale –

Leave a Reply

