operation revamp guest post :: the closet, part VIII

I’m so enjoying the chance to let a few of my friends talk about their closet experiences as I work to iron things out with my own. This week’s guest post comes from Brittany, my former-neighbor and fellow military wife. Brittany loves to create things in and out of the kitchen, she shares my love of Le Creuset cookware, and has an adorable fur-child named Boo. She was inspired to clean out her own closet after reading some of my musings and checking out some links, and today she’s sharing a list of her wardrobe essentials.

*     *     *     *     *

I’m not usually known for my clothing but I’m pretty popular for my cooking and this year I wanted to make a few changes. I’ve got numerous health and wellness goals, but one of my other ambitions is to invest in myself. I want to upgrade my wardrobe because, well,  I’m worth it. If you’ve ever been on a weight loss journey then you know the hardest part is trying to find clothes that make you feel comfortable. (Or pretty. Or sexy. Or confident.)

Sometimes it’s fun when you know you’ve gone down a size and shopping becomes a reward. Other times it’s harder because you know that you’ll have to move to a larger number and the thought of doing so makes shopping rather depressing.

I’ve been on both sides of the fence but this year, no matter my size, I’ve decided I’m worth dressing up for.

When it comes to clothes, I’m one for simplicity. I like button down flannels, perfectly aged T-shirts and jeans that make you feel like a million bucks. I don’t like to get caught up in trends (although I did pick up a pair of skinny jeans and have yet to go back to bootcut) and I think a personal style should be about what YOU like. If you like to wear neon and floral prints…do it. If a chunky knit sweater and maxi skirt make you feel comfortable…wear it.

The key to great style is to wear things you truly enjoy. You don’t want to look like you’re being forced to wear an outfit against your will. That being said, there are some classic pieces that are always in style and would be a welcome addition to any wardrobe, no matter your style, size or shape!

Item 1: Long Sleeved White Button Down Shirt. (1, 2, 3)

This piece is versatile in every sense. I suggest you try on a number of different brands and sizes to find the one that best suits your style. I also suggest you head to a tailor (or talented friend) to have your shirt of choice altered to perfection.

3 Style Suggestions:

1. Layered under a cozy sweater.
2. Wear with a smart blazer and trousers for the perfect job interview ensemble.
3. Pair with your favorite jeans, sleeves rolled to perfection.

Item 2: Lightweight Sweaters. (1, 2, 3)

This is a lovely little piece to add to your closet. The reason I suggest choosing a lightweight one over, say, a chunky cable knit is to give you more flexibility and use throughout the year. It’s perfect for those chilly summer nights at the beach, cozy enough for brisk fall days, and ideal for a rain soaked spring. It’s worth mentioning that a fine knit, such as cashmere, will last a long time and can be worth the investment!

3 Style Suggestions:

1. Pick a sweater in a bright color or print to wear as a statement piece.
2. Opt for a neural shade paired with colorful jeans.
3. Combine with your White Button Down and shorts for a casual, yet stylish ensemble.

Item 3: Classic Outerwear (1, 2, 3)

One item I deem absolutely necessary for each and every woman’s wardrobe would be a trench coat. It has earned its place in the fashion hall of fame (with the assistance of the lovely Audrey Hepburn) and it covers a multitude of sins or unkempt clothing. Make sure your trench coat fits properly, meaning you can fully button it without tugging, bunching, or straining the buttons. Also, I’d recommend a length that hits you just above or just below the knee (depending on your preference/height.)

Personally, I prefer a trench in classic khaki but I encourage you to choose a color that best suits your style and wardrobe!

The beauty of the trench is that it can be worn completely by itself. Pair it with a handful of accessories and you can easily turn heads. (Even if you’re just using it to hide your PJ’s at the post office.) I’ve yet to purchase my own trench coat (though I’ve been lusting over the classic Burberry for a number of years) but this year I’m determined to pick one up. (No, not the Burberry…but a girl can dream!)

I hope you find some inspiration in my humble suggestions, and I think these pieces would complement any style and still leave ample room for personal creativity.

*     *     *     *     *

Find more from Brittany at Kitchen Candid.

Leave a Reply

