a hidden gem

SONY DSC SONY DSCSONY DSC SONY DSCOver the weekend we went to a little winery outside of town to explore and do a tasting with another couple. We tasted six wines, nibbled on cured meats and cheese, shared another bottle and wandered the grounds. (My favorites were the Tempranillo and the Old Vine Riesling.) The sunset was incredible. The live oaks were lush and the pecans still clung to a few choice nuts against the backdrop of yet another incredible Texas sunset. For a little bit, I felt like we were somewhere else. Somewhere luxurious and cultural and relaxing and far, far away from reality.

It was an escape that I’m hoping to return to very soon, a little hidden gem of beauty. I’m feeling pretty tired this week (yes, already), so I’m clinging to these photos and remembering the feeling of the sun on my back and red wine on my lips.

What’s getting you through the week this week?

Leave a Reply

