super-C sorbet

SONY DSCMy obsession with grapefruit hasn’t calmed down this winter. The pink-orange segments, tinted like that of a ripe persimmon, offer just the right amount of sour and sweet flavors, with the pulse of far-away sunshine hidden beneath the pith. I love the ritual of carving into a grapefruit half, neatly severing the fruit from the membrane to scoop out with a spoon. After eating the citrus insides I always squeeze the grapefruit juice into my bowl, to slurp up in one glorious, tart-sweet gulp. It’s always a little disappointing when my grapefruit is finished.SONY DSC Grapefruit quells my cravings for something sweet without being too sugary, and there’s something about the acidic juice that makes me feel clean inside, as if the sourness is wiping out all of the cookies and french fries I’ve eaten in the past. (And maybe the past was only last Tuesday…) I turned my favorite fruit into a decadent citrus dessert by adding only a few complimentary ingredients and whirring it all together in a blender. The result looked like a sunrise, tasted like Florida, and had me feeling like spring was almost here. SONY DSCSuper-C Sorbet

juice of 1 lemon

juice of 1 lime

juice + pulp of 1 grapefruit

12 oz. frozen peaches

splash of coconut water

Combine all ingredients in a high-speed blender and process until smooth and airy. The consistency should be thick and slightly whipped. Top with bee pollen, shredded coconut, banana slices, or chopped macadamia nuts for a special twist.

I made this another time and added half a banana and some leftover coconut milk. The result was a slightly sweeter, creamier, more tropical version of the original, although it might have been improved by the addition of rum. Since I’m not lounging on a beach somewhere, I left it for another day, but I’d love to hear what interesting ingredients you add.

Leave a Reply

