a little announcement

Screen Shot 2013-02-20 at 7.41.34 PMI’m so excited to announce that I’ll be attending the 2013 Paleo FX conference in Austin next month. I’ve dreamed about going to something like this ever since I got on the nutritional path, and I’m so grateful to be able to make this dream a reality, to hobnob with other food geeks, and to learn about fuel and movement in one of the coolest cities in Texas. Let’s do a little roll call to see who else will be there — leave a comment if you’re going and hopefully we can meet up and chat while there.

On the docket for seminars are such big names as Robb Wolf, Diane Sanfilippo, the one and only Melissa Joulwan and Dr. Terry Wahls. You’d better believe that I’m bringing all of my paleo/primal literature for some signatures! In addition to lectures, there will be training seminars, cooking demonstrations, and tons of paleo-friendly vendors hawking their wares. I’m looking forward to tasting some of the famous Steve’s Original PaleoKits and scoring an issue of Paleo Magazine.

I’ll be blogging updates and recaps while I’m there, but for now I’m the most eager to hearing about who else will be around for the festivities.

*     *     *     *     *

And instead of my typical around here Friday post, today I’m going to share a few links I’ve found on the web that have piqued my interest in the last couple of days. They run the gamut of historical articles to, of course, recipe posts.

This article makes me want to move back to the farm. Yeah, life is rough and tough there sometimes, but it’s worth it. This, combined with a recent podcast I listened to about interning on Joel Salatin’s Polyface Farm has got me itching for a pair of overalls and a coop full of laying hens. Maybe someday we’ll go back to the farmstead and live a life of subsistence farming, complete with rain barrels, compost piles and lots of room to roam.

This Winter Greens, Kabocha Squash and Peeled Pear Salad from Goop looks fabulous. I will make it this weekend, by golly, by the power invested in me by the state of Gwyneth Paltrow.

And speaking of greens, around my house we’ve been all about the dark leafy vegetables of late. We go through heads of kale at a time, but earlier in the week I grabbed some giant bags of mixed greens — collards, mustard and turnip greens — that were two for $5 and I’ve been pleased with my purchase ever since. I usually wilt half a bag at a time in a skillet with some butter, add a dash of garlic powder and fish sauce, and finish with a squeeze of lemon. The same goes with our usual kale, and I serve this with eggs for breakfast or with any variety of protein for dinner. Lately, I’ve been looking for more interesting greens recipes and have turned to Foodgawker for inspiration. Look at all of this gourmet kale-y goodness.

I want to try Crossfit. Has anyone done it before? There’s an upcoming free intro session at my local box and I’m eager to try it out. Because I want to be this beautifully badass.

After getting sick earlier in the week, I’m finishing up a round of effective (but regrettable) antibiotics. I’m going to finish out the week with a little extra oil of oregano and hopefully start from scratch with homemade kefir and sauerkraut (plus capsuled probiotics) to rehabilitate my gut. A variety of literature I’ve been reading lately, including this article from The Human Food Project, via Mama’s Weeds, stresses the importance of the gut in our overall health and physical function, including our immunity and metabolism. The recommendation to “eat more [species of] plants” has really been on my mind lately, especially as I’ve been downing so much kale. Plus, I think it could be a fun game to see how many different kinds of vegetables I could ingest in a week. Would you be up for the challenge to get in “30-40 species” in a week?

I’m still hard at work in the wardrobe department, although I’ve been doing my share of online dream-shopping instead of actual shopping. I already mentioned how much I love the Emerson Fry spring line, but have you seen the new 3191 collection? Just a few pieces available per style, all handmade. I would have snatched this tank up in an instant but, sadly, I just barely missed it.

In the next few days we’ve got a few social engagements to look forward to, including a date at the rodeo. What occasions are you donning your best boots for this weekend? Let me know, I’m always curious!

5 thoughts on “a little announcement

  1. I pray that the Lord blesses you through this seminar with knowledge that can lead you on His path and help you be a blessing to others who are in need of help (as you already are through your blog :)).
    In Him~
    Natalie

Leave a Reply

