operation revamp :: the office

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSCIt’s still a work in progress in here, but the layout and atmosphere make the room so much better than it was before. (There are no “before” photos for a reason.) I changed the placement of our desk and armchair, added a little extra organization in our industrial shelf, slapped down a rug and tacked up some art. I’ve been working in here in the evenings and the space is already warmer and more welcoming, especially when I light my pumpkin pie custard-scented candle. (Thanks, Elise!) That candle could make any room smell like Thanksgiving.

I particularly love my giant Stendig calendar — one glance and I know what’s going on for the entire month thanks to the sticky note system. Having the armchair by the window is much more inviting than where it was in the corner, and the natural light is more conducive to reading and lounging. I’m hoping to add some more art and perhaps a cozy pillow to our old armchair. But for now, I’m happy.

January goals = completed!

5 thoughts on “operation revamp :: the office

  1. I love what you’ve done with the space! I am still going through the growing pains of limited budget coupled with big design ideas. I’ve been searching for a desk to create my office space, where did you get your desk??

    • I bought my desk at an antique store years ago, when I was still living at home and wanted a more “grown-up” desk option. I sanded and painted it a gloss black, and imagine I’ll be using it for a long time to come. Scour Craigslist for an old table and work some DIY magic! I think that’s always the best way to do something on a budget 🙂

  2. around here | little dutch wife

  3. I wish I could say I have completed all of my January goals but I haven’t 😦 I did take a month long trip around south east Asia so that is my excuse… I really like your calendar, I may have to pick one up :-). Love and shine courtstar

  4. goals :: february | little dutch wife

Leave a Reply

