goals :: 2013 edition

I have thirteen goals for 2013. It just happened that way. I was writing and thinking and rearranging and all of a sudden I had thirteen perfect, achievable goals, big and small alike.

They range from “to-do” list projects for our house to personal achievement goals. I want to grow and improve this year in every way, and I think these New Year’s resolutions will help me on my way to that. I feel really good about this list, and more importantly, I feel really good about my ability to accomplish these things — my approach this year was more about identifying the things I want to do and be, rather than what I think I should try to accomplish or add to my already full and busy life. This year isn’t about obligations, but rather about thriving.

2c01b33a4d4f11e2904b22000a1f8c1d_7

1) Get rid of useless things in my house and in my life, be they clothes, products, papers, habits or decor. // Action steps include reorganizing, buying less and paring down my possessions.

2) Create a shared office space that is both beautiful and functional. // Action steps include finding a dual desk, a desk chair for me, and adding storage, inspiration and warmth to the space. (Perhaps via this rug.)

3) Develop and maintain a household budget, complete with long- and short-term savings plans and cash systems.

4) Take the Red Velvet blog design e-course from Elsie and Elise.

5) Get my Texas concealed carry license. // Action steps include researching local instructors, blocking off a weekend and signing up for a session.

6) Write something and submit it for publication somewhere new.

7) Strive for optimal health and wellness in the next year through fitness and paleo/primal eating. // Action steps including completing the January Whole30 challenge (I’m starting TODAY! Woo!), committing to circuit workouts twice per week, and seeking out a local yoga studio.

8) Get my wardrobe under control. // Pants? Shoes? WTF? Action steps include gradually phasing out ill-fitting pieces and replenishing my wardrobe with quality, classic basics, all the while finding comfort in my own unique style.

9) Read more books. Read fewer blogs. // Action steps include working through my current reading pile and then starting on this Gilmore Girls-inspired book challenge.

10) Refinish the [growing] stack of secondhand furniture in the garage. // Action steps include buying sandpaper, paint and finish stripping supplies, Danish oil and/or paint.

11) Get serious about my business. // Action steps include achieving goal #1, setting up regular “business hours,” developing a few critical spreadsheets and working on a separate financial plan.

12) Research more about degrees and health career options in nutrition. // Action steps include downloading and reading the free book from the Institute of Integrative Nutrition.

13)  Train for and run a local trail race — be it a 5k or a half marathon — in March. // Action steps include committing to a running plan, going with my friend Abby for riverside runs, trying to increase my endurance through two or three runs a week, letting my run-happy hubby coach me and maybe purchasing these slick new shoes.

*    *     *     *     *

Do you set New Year’s resolutions? What do they look like? What do you want to achieve in 2013?

Let me know, I’m always curious!

6 thoughts on “goals :: 2013 edition

  1. I am definitely going for a healthier and more “fit” 2013! Hoping to hit my goal weight and possibly run another 1/5 marathon sometime 🙂

  2. operation revamp :: the closet, part II | little dutch wife

Leave a Reply

