2013 manifesto

Happy new year, everyone! What a whirlwind 2012 has been: I revamped the blog and purchased my own domain, wrote and defended my honors thesis, lived on my own, graduated from college, got married, honeymooned in Hawaii, learned to make crepes, quit my job to take a cross-country roadtrip, celebrated six months of marriage with Andrew, moved to Texas to start active duty life, moved into our first home together, and started pursuing a serious freelance business venture. Needless to say, this was a year of milestones.

But I have a feeling that 2013 is going to be even better.

I love fresh starts and tangible beginnings, where you can see the end of one thing and the transition into the new. The new year is no exception, and you better believe that I have my list of 2013 goals and resolutions already prepared. This year, instead of writing about how I want to “do better” at this or “try harder” at that, I’ve made my resolutions concrete, specific, achievable goals. When I look at my goals now, I see the steps through which I can make progress and take real steps to cross things off the list. It’s much less intimidating and, I think, much more gratifying. For example, instead of telling yourself to “be healthier” in the new year, set a smaller goal of walking for 30 minutes each day or cutting out sugar from your diet. Instead of trying to “be kinder” in 2013, set aside a few bucks per week to buy coffee for a stranger or leave a bigger tip for a frazzled waitress. When the goals are physical, tangible actions instead of abstract, emotional wishes, it’s a better way to set yourself up for success. (I’ll be sharing my goals on the blog later this week, so stay tuned for more details.)

As I was journaling about my goals and hopes for this new year on the last day of 2012, I let myself dream a little about all of the things I could accomplish. I let my mind wander into things that I wanted to feel upon emerging from 2013 and going into 2014, and I thought about all of the ways I could get there. I have 365 days ahead of me to become stronger, smarter, healthier, more loving and more generous. And thus, my 2013 manifesto was created. I made it a bit prettier than what I jotted down in my journal, and feel free to share if it inspires you too.

*     *     *     *     *
2013 manifesto II

*     *     *     *     *

manifesto redux

Go forward with hope and joy into this new year — let’s grab 2013 by the horns!

3 thoughts on “2013 manifesto

Leave a Reply

