a good morning

Just a moment of captured morning light, taken the last time I was home.

*     *     *     *     *

We are in such a good place right now, Andrew and I. We have this great little home in this funny little town, he has a great job and I get to do all sorts of cool stuff with work and with play. We’ve established our little routines and chores. I cook, he washes up. He gets up before me to make the coffee, and I make him breakfast while he reads the Times. We have our own rituals, like tea in the evenings and listening to records and lighting fancy candles when we can. We have so much. So much to keep on giving. As we approach the Christmas season and the end of 2012, I am feeling especially blessed, especially today, on our seven-month anniversary.

Today I’m taking a break from the web in favor of simplicity and quality time with my man. We’re having a mini Christmas with just us tonight, complete with presents and our tree and homemade eggnog. This weekend we’ll load up the car with gifts and warm clothes (they aren’t getting much use here…) and head home for the holidays to spend Christmas and New Years with our big families. Things will be a little quiet around here until after the first of the year, but I  hope you won’t feel like you’re missing out on anything because I hope you’ll be spending every spare moment with your people, hugging and laughing and eating and playing and loving.

But I have big plans for 2013, so get ready: Goals! And recipes! And plans! More goals! Writingphotographydesign! Nutritionhealthfitness! Travel! So much love!

Happy Thursday, all.

To Andrew — happy wedding day. Let’s keep this good thing we’ve got going.

One thought on “a good morning

  1. so so so good to hear that you two are finding your rhythm in your new place! merry christmas to you two! we received your card yesterday & we ABSOLUTELY love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

