recipe round-up

It’s been a little quiet around here lately, as far as food and recipes go. Don’t be worried — I am still cooking and creating, and have several treats waiting in the wings for your enjoyment. As I continue to test recipes for this blog, I’ve been continually inspired by others around the web and have made some incredible dishes lately, thanks to them. Here’s a round-up of my favorite blogger recipes, with my compliments to the chefs! (And of course, all credits for recipes and photos go to the creators themselves.)

1) Cowboy Breakfast Skillet from Health-Bent

paleo-cowboy-breakfast-skillet

Oh man oh man, I’m still reeling from the deliciousness of this one. I made this for breakfast one morning this week, and it was just.so.good. The sweetness of the potatoes combined with the spicy sausage, creamy eggs and avocados, brine-y feta (my addition), and tangy cilantro was satisfyingly savory. Nourishing and filling, to boot! From their recipe I was inspired to saute some pre-roasted sweet potato wedges (for a faster cooking time) in coconut oil in a cast-iron skillet. I added sliced smoked andouille sausage (spicy!) and four eggs to the mix, then popped it all under the broiler for the eggs to firm up. When the egg whites were set, I topped it all with chopped avocado, cilantro and crumbled feta. Three cheers for Health-Bent!

2) Oven-Braised Mexican Beef from Nom Nom Paleo

tumblr_m2ge1nXcJg1qdei8m

I adore everything Michelle has to offer. She has — unbeknownst to her — helped me a great deal in my healthy eating transition, as her umami-packed dishes have steered me away from sweets and into the realm of all things SAVORY and MEATY. This recipe is no different: it is incredibly delicious and easy and I made it twice last week, which if you know me, it’s a rare thing for me to make something twice, let alone twice in one week! We have access to great grass-fed beef stew meat at our local grocery store, and I would gladly buy out their entire stock if it meant I could eat this every day. I followed the recipe to a tee, using my Le Creuset dutch oven, and when the cook time was up the typically tough stew meat fell apart under my fork. Genius, Michelle!

3) Red Pepper Pasta Sauce from Mama’s Weeds

Red pepper pasta sauce over spaghetti squash

I’ve had this recipe bookmarked for about a year now, and only just got around to trying it. Boy was I missing out — this sauce is naturally sweet and addictively savory all at once, and is perfect paired with spaghetti squash (as per Alison’s recommendation) and homemade meatballs. I upped the ante on this one by aggressively caramelizing my onions in butter, and subbing the stock for red wine. That added an extra punch of flavor and color to the sauce, although it’s understandable why Alison didn’t use it when she first posted this recipe — she was pregnant! Hooray for healthy mamas and Mama’s Weeds, and go try this sauce STAT.

4) Coconut Flour Tortillas from Tropical Traditions

recipe_Coconut_Flour_Tortillas

This recipe has been on my radar for a good while, as I am a Tropical Traditions customer and a fiend for coconut recipes. In my quest for health (and my paleo-ish path), I’ve stopped buying most chips/breads/cereals, but I live with a tortilla-loving man. This looks like something that would marry both of our interests and put my quart jar of Tropical Traditions coconut oil to good use. (More on this tomorrow!)

5) Coconut Cake and Coconut Buttercream Frosting from The Food Lovers Kitchen

Screen Shot 2012-12-12 at 9.54.20 AM

Despite the decadent title, this amazing cake with equally amazing frosting is entirely paleo/primal, and very nearly IQS-friendly. I made it just in time for lunch and tea one afternoon, and I was so pleased with the texture of the coconut flour cake. So moist, so light, with a delicate crumb and a subtle sweetness. I halved the recipe to make one 9″ cake, and halved the buttercream frosting recipe to give it a light coating. Additionally, I subbed organic butter for the palm oil shortening and topped the whole thing with grated nutmeg and toasted pecans. I have a feeling that this recipe will be my go-to for when I’m needing an indulgence that I don’t want to regret. Thanks, Food Lovers!

6) The Pioneer Woman‘s Perfect Salmon

pams-day-of-deliciousness

I’ve used this method of cooking frozen salmon filets only a couple of times, but it really is reliable and has a delicious outcome. Crispy on the outside, soft and flaky on the inside. My only preference is to use butter in place of olive oil, plus a squeeze of fresh lemon juice after the filets emerge from the oven. Thanks to this recipe, I have an easy, go-to recipe for when I’m stumped over what to make for dinner. I’m making it a habit to keep our freezer stocked with wild-caught Alaskan salmon, so that when I come home from an afternoon of last-minute Christmas shopping and have no idea what’s happening in the next thirty minutes, but Andrew is of course STARVING (ahem, like last night), I can have dinner on the table in 30 minutes. Bam. My hat’s off to you, Pioneer Woman.

*     *     *     *     *

What are some of your favorite recipes of late? Is there anything that you’ve been leaning on for quick and easy dinners, or do you have a special dish that you always turn to when you need something delicious? Let me know, I’m always curious!

One thought on “recipe round-up

Leave a Reply

