i quit sugar update + confession

Hello to all still interested in my journey toward quitting sugar. The past three weeks or so have been fraught with change and many good, new things, but often they meant I didn’t have a full pantry or my arsenal of healthy foods around for easy access. Too many breakfasts on the road left me cranky and craving sugar, and too many easy carbs (better than sugar, right? NOT) sapped my energy and my strength. To top it off, there’s been a lot of celebrations happening, and I just hosted an amazing baker  friend and her husband for a week at my house. Obviously, if Christa made cookies or brownies or candy, I had to eat it. Okay, okay. I GOT to eat it.

*hooray!*

All this to say, I fell off the wagon somewhere about five miles back. I’m pretty dusty and I’ve got a lot of stickers in my boots, but I’m ready to hop back up again and try anew. My commitment to better health is unwavering, as is my being convinced that quitting sugar and limiting grains is better for my life overall, including my energy levels and my mood.

But how do you hop back on that fast-moving wagon when you’ve already fallen off so many times before? The answer is simple: grace.

If you’re experiencing the same thing I am, give yourself time to enjoy and indulge, and then give yourself grace in recovering and recommitting. Just make sure that “grace period” isn’t too long or lenient. Take gentle steps to recalibrate and reset. Some of my favorites include:

1) Getting lots of extra sleep — go to bed early! This helps your body to detoxify and rest up for more healthy success days.

2) Drinking extra water to rehydrate your cells after all of those sugary treats. This also improves the digestion of bad-for-you treats, and often helps with the “sugar hangover” that comes the next morning.

3) Squeezing in as many extra veggies as you can into your day. Start with a veg-only green juice and see if you can make a creative breakfast with leftover vegetables from the previous night’s dinner. Take out the carbs and replace them with veggies, like I did for dinner this week. One notable meal was baked salmon, cauliflower “fried rice” with bell peppers, garlic and cilantro, and roasted broccoli, and it felt SO good.

4) Loading up on the good fats. Ones found in my favorite snacks like coconut butter or macadamia nuts provide satiety and nutrients, and help your digestive system process toxins. These yummy saturated fats make it easy to go for long periods without eating square meals, if necessary, and they are nourishing to our bodies on a cellular level. As an added bonus, once you’ve started on your sugar-free journey, these yummies start to actually taste SWEET.

After dinner one night I was hearing the homemade Christmas candy in the freezer calling my name (even though I have already adequately sampled it, thankyouverymuch), and so I brewed a cup of herbal tea (Yogi Healthy Fasting) and stirred in some heavy cream. I savored this treat as if it were hot cocoa! Another great solution to my sugar cravings is a spoonful (or two) of coconut butter, either homemade or Artisana Raw Coconut Butter. My favorite!

5) Trying to move consistently, and especially if you’re in a climate where you can get some fresh air. Even though the past week was often dangerous, diet-wise, a regular schedule of long morning walks (and gabs with my friend Christa) kept me feeling sane and fit. Plus, exercise distracts from those pesky sugar cravings that so often de-rail us from our goals.

*     *     *     *     *

How have you been progressing? (Or in my case, digressing…) What are some of your tips for beating sugar cravings and hopping back up on the healthy bandwagon?

Let me know, I’m always curious!

P.S. Congrats to Sarah and Jo for all of their hard work — IQS is branching off on its own exciting journey. Check out the site for more info.

P.P.S. Be on the lookout for a product review and a giveaway sometime soon!

4 thoughts on “i quit sugar update + confession

  1. Mm, leftover veggies for breakfast is my favorite! If we have any in the fridge, I work them into my breakfast– one day this week I had leftover sauteed brocolli with eggs!

Leave a Reply

