a handcrafted christmas

Here are some of the decorations I’ve been making for our first little Christmas at home together. Anything that wasn’t purchased in raw material form from a craft store was thrifted and then repurposed. For example, my “O Holy Night” canvas was first painted with a strange wine bottle still life, over which I promptly sprayed a few layers of gold paint. A little gold paint fixes everything, in my opinion.

SONY DSC

a simple wooden bead + string garland for our tree

SONY DSC

felt mistletoe for extra kissing valu

SONY DSC

revamped creche

SONY DSC

my wreath for all seasons, with wintertime swag

SONY DSC

my “mantle” complete with a very subtle JOYEAUX NOEL garland

SONY DSC

repurposed canvas with one of my favorite Christmas hymns

SONY DSC

the little lord Jesus

SONY DSC

and this little garland, just for fun

*     *     *     *     *

How are you decorating for Christmas around your house this year? Are you making or buying or both?

Let me know, I’m always curious!

7 thoughts on “a handcrafted christmas

  1. “My wreath for all seasons, with wintertime swag” …hahahahahaha! Love it. I’m jealous of your craftiness, Mrs. Van Genderen.

  2. I love your decorations, especially the mistletoe and wreath. What a beautiful home you have. I won’t be buying or making any additional decorations this year but since I’ve been using the same ones for almost 8 years, I’m ready for a change. You’ve given me some inspiration! Thanks.

    • The “old” stuff is usually the best anyway! Since my husband and I are starting from scratch this Christmas, I decided to make a lot instead of buy, and we’re going to gradually build up our ornament collection until it’s as good as one like yours. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

