pumpkin spice [protein] smoothie

 

Hello weekend friends, chess players or no. I’d like to introduce you to a fall friend of mine, the pumpkin spice smoothie. I exercise great restraint and usually only make these when it is appropriate — i.e., during the fall — but it can be such a decadent way to start out the morning or support a workout when you pretend to drink the filling of a pumpkin pie.

Has anyone ever had an Andy’s Frozen Custard Pumpkin Pie Concrete? My friend Elise and I used to get those to celebrate fall every year in college, most often topped with candied/salted pecans. The ice cream techs blend an entire slice of pumpkin pie with their vanilla custard to create a thick, rich dessert flecked with bits of crust and allspice. Let me just repeat that if you didn’t catch the point: AN ENTIRE SLICE OF PUMPKIN PIE. IN ICE CREAM.

Now that I’m trying to stay away from custard, as amazing as it is, I have to fill those cravings with something a little healthier. Plus, the Andy’s in our town went out of business, and that coupled with my move to another state has made sweet dates with Elise a little difficult. (Miss you, friend)

Hence, the pumpkin spice smoothie. You can eat it for breakfast and not feel guilty. But I won’t blame you if you swing for the real thing.

Pumpkin Spice [Protein] Smoothie

1 can full-fat coconut milk

1 c. coconut water

1-2 c. pumpkin puree

1 tsp. vanilla extract

pumpkin pie spice, ginger, nutmeg, allspice, cinnamon

1 scoop Jillian Michael’s Vanilla Whey Protein Powder (stevia-sweetened), optional

ice cubes

Combine all ingredients in a blender (I used my Blendtec) and pulse until completely mixed and smooth. Add ice cubes and crush until smooth again.

For anyone interested in adding some natural sweetness (and not on the IQS bandwagon), blend in a frozen banana. I love doing this in smoothies because it adds just a touch of sugar and makes the end result really creamy.

Leave a Reply

