around here

1. wearing out my wool socks.

2. sketching postcard ideas to announce the big move.

3. getting inspiration from this kooky cauliflower.

4. repping fall with this polish from Butter London (“fash pack”).

5. drinking this tea to stave off colds.

*     *     *     *     *

Around here it’s getting chilly and starting to look more like fall. November approaches…and I can’t believe it. We’re spending our last month visiting family and making preparations for the move, zipping between Green Forest and St. Louis with plans for fun in Fayetteville in between. We’ll celebrate our first Halloween together next week with a spooky movie and a wish for trick-or-treaters, and already I’m thinking about what we’ll do for our first Thanksgiving on our own.

I’m also listening nonstop to this Goat Rodeo Sessions album, an amazing collaboration between celebrated cellist YoYo Ma and bluegrass artists Stuart Duncan, Edgar Meyer and Chris Thile. It is the perfect soundtrack to drizzly drives through the hills.

I’m dreaming about decorating our new home in Texas, although we actually don’t have a place yet and will be using all of the same stuff we have now. But that’s what Pinterest is for, right? To channel all of our misplaced consumeristic desires into a neat little space while real life is so messy? Still, I have some ideas a-cookin’, including designs for a large print over our bed, plans to recover my grandparents’ old chair, and a search for a vintage chalkboard.

Along with my mother, I’m gearing up for Sarah Wilson’s “I Quit Sugar” program, just in time for all of the sweets-laden holidays at the end of the year. I know this will be a challenge but it’s one I enter into willingly and with excitement. Quitting sugar will stretch my willpower and my creativity, and will hopefully challenge many of the social and cultural “norms” I’ve adapted to over the years. Of course, I hope to chronicle my journey here on the blog. Want to join me? Find out  more here.

Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

