around here

20120804-073657.jpg

Around here there’s been lots of travel and work, very little Internet access, and plenty of fun. Lately we’ve been living without television and wi-fi, and even though I just want to watch the Olympics all day every day it has actually been nice to simplify and get away from technology a bit. Instead of watching tv or logging on, Andrew has been re-teaching himself chess and reading The Hobbit in preparation for this winter’s release of the film adaptation. I just finished Atlas Shrugged, a book that thrilled and astonished me with its size and subject matter. My mindset has been entirely changed and I now see the world differently.

We have watched some of the Olympic games – which I love – and, perhaps inspired by the athletes, we’ve been working out more regularly. We have plan for a date this weekend, and I have plans to try out a yoga studio in town and stock up on eggs and veggies at the farmers market.

A good week behind and a good week to come – these are things I like to have.

2 thoughts on “around here

  1. Sounds like you are having a fun summer, Erin! You read all of Atlas Shrugged? Whew! I read The Fountainhead when I was in high-school. I remember feeling very inspired and motivated. I think students who are about to graduate from high school or college should drink in as much of Rand’s idealism as possible, don’t you?

    • I just finished it and I LOVED it. I agree — I think the world would be a better place if we all were to take a little of Rand’s thoughts and apply them. I’ll have to read The Fountainhead now!

Leave a Reply

