wish list :: books galore

There has been significantly more lazing-about and Downton Abbey-watching this summer than reading, and although I could argue the merits of the aforementioned non-literature related activities, I am happiest behind a page of words with a cup of tea by my side. I’ve been proud to read several books in succession since the big hullabaloo that was the month of May, including a collection of New Yorker essays and The Hunger Games (both read on the honeymoon), but my reading list is growing as my reading progress slows. This week, I share a few of my new additions and some I’m currently working on. The GRE test preparation booklet staring at me from my bookshelf is not included here…nor have the covers been cracked.

I started Atlas Shrugged on the 4th of July and have been slowly making my way through it — a little bit each day — since then. Rand’s skills with metaphor and the austerity of her settings are astonishing, and sometimes I re-read a sentence until it is etched in my brain. I’m learning a great deal about socio-political philosophies as well as the craft of writing.

As far as the Paleo fad is concerned, I recognize that I am severely behind the times. I’ve read some blogs and primal newsletters, and although what they all say makes a great deal of sense, I want to know the science behind the philosophy. Weston A. Price’s famous study is one that has been on my to-read list ever since I devoured Nourishing Traditions last summer. These books, combined with David Gillespie’s Sweet Poison, make for one nutrition-heavy reading list, but I’m not complaining.

My parents sent me a copy of the Best Food Writing 2009 for Valentine’s Day several years ago, and I would love to catch up on the latest trends and essayists with this newest compilation. This book provides a bridge between my nutritional research reading and the creativity/freelancing books I have gathered — I’ve heard nothing but good things about The Creative Habit and Creative, Inc. These, I hope, will be as entertaining and inspiring as they will be valuable to my future as a creator and writer. (Thanks to Holly the Healthy Everythingtarian and Elise Blaha Cripe for the heads up on these!)

Kinfolk has been on my radar for about a year now, but I just ordered my first magazine. I was wavering on my decision about ordering what seemed like such a frivolous expense, and then I saw that their summer volume was all about traveling and roadtrips and I was sold. Now I’m waiting desperately at my mailbox every afternoon for the UPS man to bring it home.

*     *     *     *     *

What are you reading this summer? Let me know, I’m always curious!

all non-linked book images from Barnes & Noble

Leave a Reply

