It’s That Time of Year…

It’s that time. Finals time. I’m already writing papers and studying for exams and it’s December. Oh holy night.

Here are some thoughts as I scramble to the finish and try to clear my procrastinating mind.

(I mean, I’ve already steamed my face, baked a cake, checked Facebook…I guess I could clean my room and THEN I guess I can write this paper…)

But really. The thoughts:

Christmas shopping has me overwhelmed. I think that, now that I have an in-law family to take into account, and I’m getting older, I feel more responsibility to contribute to gift-giving. If I had things my way, I would just make tons of granola and give it away to my loved ones. And I’d love to give handmade gifts, but unfortunately I don’t have the resources for that at this time in my life. Someday. But, I so believe in taking time to rest and to enjoy people and the true meaning of Christmas throughout December, and for me a lot of that means saying no to many social engagements and buying fewer, more meaningful gifts for my people. Have you heard of the Advent Conspiracy? Check this out, it’s a great organization.

I have some really incredible veggies in my fridge right now: a few tomatoes from my parents’s garden (not in the fridge, of course!), sprouted lentils, a pretty chunk of broccoli, half a head of red cabbage, carrots, tiny cukes, and Italian parsley. Fun! And last night I roasted a whole head of cauliflower with some nutmeg and it was delish. Tomorrow I’m going to make some chorizo and black bean chili with beer, maybe some cornbread, and a tangy tomato-cuke-sprouts salad with homemade vinaigrette. Yum.

This week I’ve baked a lot. Fantastic pumpkin bread and a cool recipe for German Beer Coffee Cake that I found in an old issue of Better Homes & Gardens, circa 1985. It’s cooling in the bundt pan right now and it tastes delightfully yeasty and rich. I’m taking it to work tomorrow as a sweet treat for my equally sweet coworkers.

My to-do list is OFF THE CHAIN crazy. I can’t even think about it. I especially don’t want to talk about it. Ugh. But the end is so near!

AND today, it snowed. Hooray for snow! I left the apartment this morning and was greeted by a pristine blanket of white on my windshield.

A lovely way to start the day, no? How has your week been? How is your week looking? And how are you preparing for the Christmas season?

Leave a Reply

