Thankful: 4

via

Today I am thankful for the gorgeous fall colors in the trees. Each time I drive home from school I think that the colors cannot get any more vibrant, that the light cannot be any more lushly copper. But each time I am proven wrong, and today’s drive home was rife with russets and saffrons and persimmons, all “enwrought in gold and silver light.” I listened to NPR and thought about the present and the future, and as I crested the last big hill before my hometown, the radio signal faded out and I admired the vast prairie below in reverent quiet. Welcome home.

*     *     *     *     *

What are you thankful for? Join me in giving thanks for one thing each day this month, and let’s be grateful together.

One thought on “Thankful: 4

Leave a Reply

