Home on the Range

Ladies and gents, this is the first post I’ve written on my birthday gift iPod touch, and let me just say that I feel like a real, live high-tech blogger! (Also, excuse any spelling mistakes as this is a tiny keypad.)

This weekend has been all about family for me – I’m in Oklahoma for a family reunion, the first one I’ve been able to attend in 5 or 6 years. It has been such a joy to see these distant cousins and great-aunts and uncles, to talk about genealogy and what everyone’s kids are up to these days. At our reunions we typically wile away the hours simply chatting the good old fashioned way. We have cookouts, swim at the hotel, meet up in the morning for a big drawn-out breakfast and always promise to see each other before a whole other year passes by.

Today one of the highlights was the slideshow of old old photographs, many of the root members of the Robertson family tree. I loved the photos of my grandfather from when he was a boy in Texas, and today as I wore his hand-tooled leather belt with his name carved in the back, I sorely missed him.

But that is life in this world, isn’t it? We’re here for a little while and we live and love and suffer and leave our loved ones behind for a greater glory. And we silly ones left on earth must be content with the wonderful, endearing memories made during our time together.

To my family – those apart from and also of the Robertson persuasion – I love you all, and I treasure this time here with you.

(Especially when that means drinking red beer on the backspace at four in the afternoon.)

xoxo

One thought on “Home on the Range

Leave a Reply

