Power Up

Another beautiful morning, and another full day ahead!

This morning, I knew I needed a protein-packed breakfast to propel me through the day and fuel me up for a run later this afternoon. I was whipping up a slow-cooker soup – White Bean Soup With Andouille & Collards – and it hit me — perfect proteins in eggs, beans, plus some added flair with chorizo.

In a nonstick pan, brown a bit of chorizo (as much as is to your liking) and, once cooked, drop in two eggs. Scramble together and add black beans – scramble more! I topped mine with a bit of fresh parsley, which added a bright crunch.

This is quick, easy, nutritious and so delicious. I think I might be going the savory route for my breakfasts more often – especially since it’s in line with Tim Ferris’ 4-Hour Body diet. I’ve been trying to follow this for the past couple of weeks, and have felt really good about the results and how I feel. The “diet” encourages lots of proteins and what are called slow carbs, or those with whole grains, lots of fiber and a slow release for better glycemic regulation. This means I eat beans, lentils, whole grains like quinoa, amaranth, brown rice…Plus solid proteins and healthy fats. I’ve been avoiding too much fruit (lots of sugar, albeit natural sugar), plus the normal refined foods, white sugar, flour, and starchy foods like white potatoes. So far, so good. I feel like my waistline is more defined and my blood sugar remains stable throughout the day, and these are all good things.

And this breakfast fits in perfectly with the guidelines!

Leave a Reply

