Kaffe Klatch

via

 

Last night Andrew took me to the sweetest coffee shop on Broadway – it was close enough to get there in a half hour, but far enough away that we felt as though we were escaping from our worlds. We spent the evening mostly in silence, reading our books – he, with 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, and me with my Charles Chesnutt stories and my Dave Ramsey financial guide. The place was cozy and hummed with conversation and the espresso machine, and tiny teapots in every shade of pastel lined shelves. They had the coolest coffee/tea accessories – quirky insulated cups, baby French presses, loose tea filters, and wee aluminum espresso makers for the stovetop like the one in the photo above. Earlier in the day I had purchased on for $8, and I am so excited to try it out.

Once our books were traded in favor of speech, our conversation turned to personal goals or “constitutions,” if you will. We discussed the merits of writing goals lists and integrity outlines, and Andrew brought up a point suggested in his book…”to learn one new thing each year.” The author, in one instance, took up woodworking, and another year, rowing.

I love this idea, to always be on the hunt for a way to expand the mind. My problem is that I always want to do a billion things at once, when I would really be better off devoting myself to one subject or project that I find the most important. I think this is a problem of personal patience, and one which I hope to remedy. In fact, one of my resolutions for this year was to do less, and do better. So, what am I going to learn this year? What is this year going to be for my brain and skills set?

Bread-making, perhaps?

And what about you? What do you want to learn in 2011?

Leave a Reply

