Thankful

There’s a sickness going around. It’s deathly. It strikes its hardest right about now, when the weather is my favorite and midterm exams are threatening to cut off my supply of oxygen.

This disease goes by the name apathy, apatheticus ridiculous for the professionals out there.

In order to combat this onset of this bug, I’m giving thanks, inspired by a list of ten things made by a sweet friend.

1. I am thankful that my classes do not start until 10:30 and 11 a.m. What a blessing it is to be able to get up early and go running, to make breakfast, to do work or study, or even sleep in for an extra hour if I need it. I will never be able to go back to 9 a.m. classes ever agin.

2. My apartment: it is always so full of laughter, music, delicious food…and crickets, but we’re working on that. It is such a relief to be able to escape from campus and retreat into my own nest.

3. In this time of my life, I have the luxury to explore and determine my passions. Since beginning college, I have discovered that the underrepresented minorities – the impoverished, the homeless, the Native American populations, the abused and neglected, the iliterate – are what I care about. I’ve tapped into various aspects of my creative side with cooking, photography, party-hosting…that I never realized I could cultivate. I have discovered that writing is my deepest passion — to be able to write, always, would make me the happiest of all.

4. My body is healthy and whole, and I am continuously learning how better to fuel myself and honor what God has given me. I have the luxury to go running and biking around this gorgeous town. (That’s my therapy, really. When I start to go crazy, I know exactly w hat I need.)

5. My family, especially my little nuclear unit, is so special to me. I am thankful that we are so close, that they are my friends and mentors, and that they have done so much to shape me into the little human I am today. We have had such incredible adventures together, and I can’t wait to go back to Ireland.

6. My friends + my sweetheart. These people are precious to me. They pour so much love into my own heart, sometimes I wonder if I am even doing anything in return to love them. Plus, they’re all SO COOL. I have the coolest friends + sweetheart: smart, hilarious, musical, Godly, kindhearted, creative…could a girl ask for more?

7. Autumn is my favorite season. I love love love lvoe the cool, in-between weather an the changing trees, the introduction of all things pumpkin into my diet, the wearing of boots and the crunch of leaves on the sidewalk.

8. Whether I like it or not, but future is a gaping, wide-open space. Not empty, per se, but open and without plan. Even a year ago, I would not have been okay with this. In fact, I would be sick with anxiety and an intense need to over-plan. I am thankful that I’m learning to let go and watch this beautiful life unfold. I know the path before me has been ordered since long before I arrived to walk on it.

9. Vegetables. Okay, yes it is weird to have an entire number devoted to vegetables, but I just love them. Mostly, I’m thankful to be out of the campus dining halls and in my own kitchen, because I love cooking healthy thinnnngssss! The other day I made this incredible quinoa salad, with roasted zucchini and chickpeas and a delicious cilantro-lime dressing. It is so good. Try it. In fact, I may or may not be eating it right now, with a side of kale. Nom nom nom.

10. Love is patient, love is kind. It does not boast, it is not proud, it is not self-seeking…I have learned so much about the love of God, and how he, in his infinite goodness, causes it to flow through use weak and petty little humans in the most unexpected ways.

 

*     *     *     *     *     *

Tell me, what are you thankful for? I encourage you to make your own list (and share it!) – it’s so good for the soul.

One thought on “Thankful

Leave a Reply

