The Green Monster

When I’m sick (which I am currently), I like to curl up in my bed with books and old episodes of Gilmore Girls. But more so, I like to cram as much fruit and veg and vitamin C into my body as possible. To do this, I put a bunch of stuff in a blender and grind it up into a thin paste. A smoothie, if you will. Various health bloggers have aptly named this concoction a “Green Monster.”

A typical green monster contains fruit, some sort of liquid, protein powder, and baby spinach, which surprisingly blends up and disappears into the other flavors. It’s like you’re tricking yourself into eating more spinach…except you watched yourself put it in the blender, and so there’s really no point in keeping up pretenses.

I like to add health-boosting things like flaxseed oil, wheat germ, or ground flaxseed. Flaxseed is high in omega-3 fatty acids, which are great for your heart health, breast health, and healthy skin/hair/nails. Ground flaxseed is especially high in fiber, and wheat germ provides a substantial dose of iron.

I also recommend adding a spritz of citrus whenever you get the chance. Citrus helps the body to absorb the iron found in spinach, plus it adds a nice zing to the smoothie.

Here’s what I had for breakfast today. I’m probably glowing.

Green Monster Smoothie

1/2 frozen banana

1/2 c. frozen peaches

1 c. baby spinach

1 Super Orange Emergen-C packet, dissolved in 1/2 c. water

4-5 Tbsp. ground flaxseed

1/2 scoop Nutiva Hemp protein powder

spritz of lime

splash of vanilla soymilk

*Note: the flaxseed, if soaked overnight, gives the smoothie a rather intense viscosity that I wouldn’t recommend for first-time Green Monster-ers. So beware of this if you add the flax.

(I happen to make my smoothies the night before I drink them for breakfast so my roommates don’t hate me for blending at 7:30 a.m. We like to keep peace around here.)

Leave a Reply

